Healy to lead as new names make Australia squad – ICC Cricket

Name Lastname
Profile % Complete

Email address not available.

The date of birth is not valid

Invalid current password

The new password needs to be different than the current one.

The confirmation does not match your new password
Young gun Phoebe Litchfield and former Ireland international Kim Garth have bolted into Australia’s women’s T20 squad to tour India, with all-rounder Heather Graham earning another call-up.
Cricket Australia announced their squad of 15 early on Tuesday morning, with stand-in skipper Alyssa Healy deputised by new vice-captain Tahlia McGrath.
Healy takes the reins with Meg Lanning again unavailable for the tour, while McGrath stands in as vice-captain after the retirement of Rachael Haynes.
Australia play five T20Is against India across December, all in Mumbai, with two matches at DY Patil Stadium followed up by three at Brabourne Stadium.
“These five matches form an important part of the team’s preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup in South Africa as well as providing an opportunity for some players to gain some experience in Indian conditions,” Australia’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said.
“India will be a good test, they’re a strong side and the two teams have had some good battles in recent times.
“Without Meg and Rachael, this series will provide opportunities for players particularly in the top order, so we’re looking forward to seeing who puts their hand up.”
Left-hander Litchfield has long been touted as an Australian representative, busting onto the scene with a half-century in just her second domestic T20 game as a 16-year-old in 2019.
The now-19-year-old is the likely long-term replacement to the retiring Haynes, and Flegler says it’s her evolution in 2022 that shored up her selection.
“We’ve had an eye on Phoebe for a while and she’s really taken her game to the next level this summer.
“She’s made her mark at the top of the order for the Sydney Thunder and we’re looking forward to seeing what she can do in Australian colours.
Having last represented Ireland in 2019, Garth has permanent residency in Australia and now qualifies to play for the country, and has impressed at domestic level in the WBBL.
The right-armer is a consistent performer in the competition, taking 60 wickets in 61 matches at an economy of just 6.39.
“Kim’s another who’s been in our thinking,” Flegler continued.
“She’s had a couple of strong seasons with the ball and adds extra depth to our pace bowling stocks.”
The first of the five T20Is is to be played on December 9.
Squad: Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland
1st T20I: 9 December, DY Patil Stadium, 7pm
2nd T20I: 11 December, DY Patil Stadium, 7pm
3rd T20I: 14 December, Brabourne Stadium, 7pm
4th T20I: 17 December, Brabourne Stadium, 7pm
5th T20I: 20 December, Brabourne Stadium, 7pm
Visit Crictos.com to collect iconic moments from ICC Cricket history!
England’s dominant 3-0 series triumph over Pakistan was confirmed on Tuesday and it has left Babar Azam’s side needing a host of results to go their way to have any chance of reaching next year’s ICC World Test Championship final.


Leave a Comment